It is currently Tue Apr 23, 2024 6:16 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Stuck at 12 Kyu
Post #1 Posted: Wed Sep 01, 2010 3:39 pm 
Beginner

Liked others: 0
Was liked: 0
KGS: Wickwire
So here is the thing, I have been playing Go on and off for the last two years or so. In the last few months, I have really gotten into it. I am studying books, playing more games, and studying L&D problems. But I haven't seen even the slightest improvement in my game, I have been stuck at the 12kyu/11kyu level for a long time.

I have read all of the Learn to play Go series (a friend had them). I have been doing GoProblems.com (about 20 to 30 a day). I have done about 1/3 of Graded Go Problems for Beginners (vol 2 and 3). I try to play at least 2 serious games a day, but I also do several fast games (less that 10 minutes for each player).

I will admit, I very much enjoy the process of studying. But when there is very little improvement, it feels like I am doing something wrong.

If anyone who had a similar plateau at 12kyu-ish could help, I would be most thankful! If you know any way to get out of this rut, that would be awesome!

Post subject: Re: Stuck at 12 Kyu
Post #2 Posted: Wed Sep 01, 2010 3:44 pm 
Honinbo

Liked others: 1600
Was liked: 1711
KGS: Kirby
Tygem: 커비라고해
Make sure you are reading during your games. Are you getting the problems you do on goproblems.com correct all of the time? Do you know you are correct before looking at the answer?

If so, do this in your games. If not, evaluate the way you are doing problems.

Post #3 Posted: Wed Sep 01, 2010 3:46 pm 
Gosei

Liked others: 546
Was liked: 173
GD Posts: 264
KGS: Chew