All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Question about on-line go etiquette
Post #1 Posted: Sat Mar 18, 2017 9:50 am 
Lives in gote

Liked others: 295
Was liked: 64
IGS: 4k
Universal go server handle: BlindGroup
I recently started playing on KGS and have had a series of very negative experiences. I don't think that this is unique to KGS, but I think I'm more aware of it on KGS because more people on KGS speak my language.

Its all the normal stuff -- verbal abuse from losing players, losing players letting their time run out, disconnecting, etc. And my two favorite examples:

1. Verbal abuse from an opponent for playing too slowly. Started very early in the game and amazingly continued even after opponent was at a 30-40 point deficit. (Shamefully after the umpteenth instance, I couldn't resist pointing out to my opponent that he might benefit from taking more of his own time to reflect on his moves.)

2. Asked an opponent if he would like to review a game (as I often do) only to be told something like, "Of course YOU want to review the game -- you won!".

I reported the most egregious violators to KGS, and the staff responded surprisingly fast. But of course, admins can only police the most serious instances.

Enough venting. Here is my question -- is this always part of online go? Or does this kind of behavior start to become less common once one advances to say the lower or middle dan levels?

Post subject: Re: Question about on-line go etiquette
Post #2 Posted: Sat Mar 18, 2017 9:56 am 
Dies in gote

Liked others: 93
Was liked: 55
Universal go server handle: swannod
BlindGroup wrote:
1. Verbal abuse from an opponent for playing too slowly. Started very early in the game and amazingly continued even after opponent was at a 30-40 point deficit. (Shamefully after the umpteenth instance, I couldn't resist pointing out to my opponent that he might benefit from taking more of his own time to reflect on his moves.)