It is currently Sat May 04, 2024 12:48 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Many Faces of Go vs Go++ vs SmartGo
Post #1 Posted: Mon May 21, 2012 12:02 pm 
Dies with sente

Liked others: 1
Was liked: 4
Universal go server handle: Trebuchet
I'm new to playing Go and in the market to buy a desktop Go program, but having read all the literature and reviews for these respective programs I'm still at a loss as to which would suit me best.

I downloaded MFoG and SmartGo and tried the demo versions of both. SmartGo's interface was very confusing. MFoG seems simpler, but was perhaps not as full featured. Sadly Go++ doesn't have a trial version so I can't try it before purchase, which is a distinct negative when I'm looking to spend $40+ for a program. (I have rejected Crazystones because it requires internet access to play.)

What I want is a program that will allow me to replay and study games and problems but is also powerful enough to practice against when I lack access to the internet. I need something which can help me improve as a player to a reasonable level; perhaps single-digit kyu at some distant point. I don't need an uber-Go player that can beat all other programs; I need one which can teach me.

Anyone have thoughts or experience with these programs, pro or con?

Post subject: Re: Many Faces of Go vs Go++ vs SmartGo
Post #2 Posted: Mon May 21, 2012 2:04 pm 
Lives in sente

Liked others: 408
Was liked: 422
GD Posts: 952
Smartgo pro is my favorite study tool, but it sounds like you want a computer to play against.

For that, I think MFoG is the best of those 3.

Post #3 Posted: Mon May 21, 2012 2:19 pm 
Dies with sente

shapenaji wrote:
Smartgo pro is my favorite study tool, but it sounds like you want a computer to play against.

Could you elaborate on that a bit?

Post #4 Posted: Mon May 21, 2012 2:22 pm 
Dies with sente

shapenaji wrote:

Could you elaborate on that a bit?

Post #5 Posted: Mon May 21, 2012 3:05 pm 
Lives in sente