It is currently Sat Apr 27, 2024 6:06 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Go goal acheived
Post #1 Posted: Wed Jun 23, 2010 8:44 am 
Dies in gote

Liked others: 18
Was liked: 0
Hey all,

Last night I was able to acheive one of my (many go goals). I started playing at my local Go Club about 3 years ago and there is one particular player there that I have played alot and who has really helped me with my game. When I started at club he was 2k (now 1k) and I was 16k and he was giving me 9 stone handicaps. My long time goal was wanting to be able to play him even (with out handi's) and win.

Well last night I finally did that. We played a game with me as black and he got 7.5 komi as white and I won the game by 3.5 points. :D It felt great! After the game we also got a great game review from a local 6 dan player.

My next major goal was to try and reach 1 dan by the time I am 40 (sigh...only 6 more months). My online rank is currently 4k but when I told the 6 dan that he laughed because he thinks I am stronger then that (I play him quite a bit so he has a good assesment of my game). I feel like I am probably currently 2-3 kyu in face to face games but my on line rank does not effect this. I'm a slow player so online play does not really suit me.

I wish I had a way to validate my rank other then playing a bunch of online games.

Any way......Have a good day all.

Post subject: Re: Go goal acheived
Post #2 Posted: Wed Jun 23, 2010 8:47 am 
Gosei

Liked others: 546
Was liked: 173
GD Posts: 264
KGS: Chew
Hey, great job! It's always fun to try to beat people you've known a long time (or the reverse, when you teach someone and they start doing better). Thanks for sharing the story. If your next goal is to get 1d by your birthday, you should come up with a study plan, or at least keep us posted on your progress towards 1d.