It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 1:48 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Looking for practical experience
Post #1 Posted: Wed May 13, 2020 1:42 pm 
Dies in gote

Liked others: 30
Was liked: 3
I am a absolute beginner, maybe around 20-25 kyu, and I am looking for two things: 1. a computer program for my playing strength and 2. people to play with.
On the KGS server, for example, I find quite a few games in progress, the bots between 20 and 30 kyu play pretty daft, and I don't find people of my playing strength there at all. I would be interested in games with 30 min - 1 hour time for consideration. Go games with 3 - 10 min are of no use to me as a beginner, I only practice my mistakes, as I still lack any intuition.
1. can anyone recommend me a program for beginners that also works on the 19x19 board?
2. where can I find weaker human players in larger numbers, so that one does not have to wait long?
Thanks!!!

Post subject: Re: Looking for practical experience
Post #2 Posted: Wed May 13, 2020 2:51 pm 
Lives with ko

Liked others: 238
Was liked: 60
Hi jumapari,
I would auggest you the old good saying: lose fast your first 100 games.

The dimension of the board is not so important at your level, so GoQuest can be the right APP and have both people and bots playing at your level.

A good server for 19x19 games is OGS https://online-go.com.
I cannot grant people at your level, but presently it is more crowded than KGS.

Enjoy!

This post by Galation was liked by: jumapari

Post #3 Posted: Wed May 13, 2020 10:48 pm 
Dies in gote

Wise words, many thanks for your help! Good health and best wishes from Germany.

Post #4 Posted: Wed May 13, 2020 11:16 pm 
Gosei

Liked others: 177
Was liked: 491
Concerning go programs, you can consider playing handicap games against 10-15 kyu bots.