It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 1:50 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Endgmame question
Post #1 Posted: Wed Oct 20, 2021 1:49 pm 
Lives with ko

Liked others: 4
Was liked: 16
Hello,

When I studied in Korea I solved an endgame book and at that time my teacher told me this move in A is less than 4 but more than 3. I am reading robert jasiek's books and when I use this methode I found 1⅔ pt for this move in A. Am I right?

Attachments:
Screenshot_20211020-222450_Adobe Acrobat.jpg
Screenshot_20211020-222450_Adobe Acrobat.jpg [ 109.59 KiB | Viewed 5280 times ]

Post subject: Re: Endgmame question
Post #2 Posted: Wed Oct 20, 2021 3:32 pm 
Lives in sente

Liked others: 391
Was liked: 162
I think you cut off too much on the right to surely say.

Note that this would be consistent with your korean teachers using »deiri« counting (swing) but Robert using »miai« counting (difference from average expectation).

Post #3 Posted: Wed Oct 20, 2021 10:57 pm 
Lives in sente

Liked others: 22
Was liked: 168
IGS: kvasir
Why was it again that a seemingly handful of Western amateurs promote the miai method while the great majority of Go players everywhere use the delta method?

Post #4 Posted: Thu Oct 21, 2021 2:21 am 
Judan

Liked others: 0
Was liked: 786
kvasir wrote:
Why was it again that a seemingly handful of Western amateurs promote the miai method while the great majority of Go players everywhere use the delta method?

There are both Western and Eastern, amateur and professional players that use traditional ("delta") and / or modern ("miai") endgame theory.

Both methods have their uses but traditional endgame theory is almost only useful for some of the most basic decisions while modern endgame theory can be used for all decisions.