It is currently Sun Apr 28, 2024 7:22 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: If I have to buy ONLY 1 book...
Post #1 Posted: Wed Jul 07, 2010 11:25 pm 
Beginner

Liked others: 0
Was liked: 0
I'm a beginner and if I have to buy ONLY 1 book, what would you recommend me?
The lack of money is why i did this post. ;-)

Post subject: Re: If I have to buy ONLY 1 book...
Post #2 Posted: Thu Jul 08, 2010 12:08 am 
Gosei

Liked others: 54
Was liked: 544
GD Posts: 1292
If I had limited resources as a beginner, I'd focus on using all the free resources I have available first such as reading all the pages of Sensei's Library. Then when you have an understanding of the fundamental ideas of go, perhaps buy "Invincible" which is a good collection of commented games of Honinbo Shusaku.

Post #3 Posted: Thu Jul 08, 2010 12:16 am 
Tengen

Liked others: 1589
Was liked: 656
GD Posts: 918
KGS: topazg
The only book I had for sometime at beginner level was "How to play Go", by Charles Matthews, and I'd happily recommend it.

Post #4 Posted: Thu Jul 08, 2010 12:27 am 
Lives with ko

Liked others: 69
Was liked: 25
If you had money for only zero book, I would suggest these two pdf files :
http://holosys.co.uk/usagi/

Actually, even if you were rich, I'd still recommand them.

Post #5 Posted: Thu Jul 08, 2010 12:42 am 
Dies with sente

Liked others: 23
Was liked: 86
GD Posts: 104
TimeZero wrote:
I'm a beginner and if I have to buy ONLY 1 book, what would you recommend me?
The lack of money is why i did this post. ;-)

If you can find your way here, then you do not need books for true beginners; there are free resources online to help you get to 15k. Really, you could just play lots of games and get to 15k.

You will get a lot of mileage out of Tesuji and Life & Death (from the Elementary Go Series). But... there are lots of free Go problems out there.