It is currently Sun Apr 28, 2024 9:50 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: SmartGo for iPhone - Rank/Level system query
Post #1 Posted: Fri Jan 21, 2011 2:02 am 
Beginner

Liked others: 2
Was liked: 1
Hello everyone.

I'm completely new to this game and was wondering if someone here could explain something to me.

I've been looking at a couple of Go apps for the iPhone/iPod; Igowin and SmartGo.

I tried out the Igowin Tutor app (which is free) and liked the facility where you could play against the AI on a 9x9 board to get some idea of your rank. I've played a few games and I seem to be hovering around the 25-26 kyu level. That's good to know and it seems that I have plenty of room for improvement! :D

After reading on these forums and finding various reviews on the web, I then decided to get the SmartGo Pro app. There's lots there to keep a complete beginner like me busy, and I'm glad I got it.

This brings me to my question.

SmartGo also has the facility to play against the AI to establish your ability. The thing is, Igowin states your rank in terms of kyu, dan and pro dan, which I can understand. SmartGo however, seems to use a different method. After a few games it tells me (on auto-level) that I'm around 'Level 8'. Obviously that's not 8 kyu and I have no idea what this actually represents.

I've looked in the SmartGo options/setup menus to see if there's a way to show rank in the conventional manner, but I can't find anything.

I have also searched on the internet (including the SmartGo website), but cannot find any information on how the SmartGo levelling system works, or how it relates to the conventional ranking system.

Can anyone shed some light on this for me?

Thanks.

Post subject: Re: SmartGo for iPhone - Rank/Level system query
Post #2 Posted: Fri Jan 21, 2011 2:41 am 
Lives in sente

Liked others: 408
Was liked: 422
GD Posts: 952
Unfortunately, I don't have an iPhone anymore, so everything here is from memory..