A bad idea 11%  11%  [ 1 ]
A terrible idea 0%  0%  [ 0 ]
Total votes : 9
 Post subject: Suggestion for an electronic go board
Post #1 Posted: Sat Mar 06, 2021 2:12 pm 
Beginner

Liked others: 1
Was liked: 0
I have an idea (hardly original) for how to build a cheap electronic go board. The setup consists of a standard go board, a smart phone app, and a small box containing a motorised laser pointer and a simple camera. The box should be placed high up, for example on a nearby bookshelf. The board is read by camera, the laser pointer is used to tell where to place the stones. The phone controls the box, and is either running an AI or is connected to a go server. All software and hardware designs should be open source. I hope that the hardware for the box will cost under 100 €.

What do you think? Sounds fun? I'm an experienced software developer, but a newbie when it comes to hardware. I'm not currently suggesting a community effort, just want to hear your what you think about the idea. All suggestions are welcome.

Post subject: Re: Suggestion for an electronic go board
Post #2 Posted: Sat Mar 06, 2021 6:18 pm 
Lives in gote

Was liked: 136
I wish you best of luck.

I'm assuming you've figured out which of the many x-y/pan-tilt/mirror-shutter systems is economical and readily available from maker suppliers. Other silly details such as making the system aware of where the edges of the board are located, possible distortion from projection distances and angles, how to differentiate between b/w stones if replaying an .sgf.

will be watching here and on reddit.

Post #3 Posted: Sun Mar 07, 2021 5:24 am 
Beginner