It is currently Mon Apr 29, 2024 8:23 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Question about a beginner set.
Post #1 Posted: Wed Mar 30, 2011 11:28 am 
Dies in gote

Liked others: 0
Was liked: 4
KGS: IrishBill
Hi,

So as I noted in my introduction, I am relatively new to Go. I have been playing on KGS (once or twice a week.. about all I can manage right now without completely ignoring my wife and son). I have started thinking about getting a go set and I am trying to find a decently playable set at a good price. I know about the YMI magnetic, roll up set that has some advantages (storage being a major one!), but browsing Amazon, I also came across this one: http://www.amazon.com/Board-Glass-Stone ... 10&sr=1-26

I was just curious if anyone has any experience with this set?

As much as I would like to drop a couple hundred on stones, bowls and a goban, I just don't see that happening in the near future (maybe if I can get the wife into the game...).

Thanks for your opinions,
Bill

Post subject: Re: Question about a beginner set.
Post #2 Posted: Wed Mar 30, 2011 11:41 am 
Lives in gote

Liked others: 39
Was liked: 59
Universal go server handle: mw42
I recently made a purchase from here: http://www.zengoban.com

You could get a much better quality board and stones for near the same price. Unfortunately, he only offers single-convex stones. Personally, though, I prefer the single-convex to the more traditional double-convex.

Post #3 Posted: Wed Mar 30, 2011 1:22 pm 
Lives in sente

Liked others: 146
Was liked: 150
Universal go server handle: judicata
Sure, that set will definitely work.

Here's another one you might want to check out for about $7 more at Shodan Imports

This also comes with single-convex yunzi stones. If you want bi-convex stones, you could pick up the board for $35, and get the stones for pretty cheap here at Yutopian
Yutopian also has some board options.