It is currently Mon Apr 29, 2024 1:38 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Upcoming Elections - Feng Yun appears in the line up
Post #1 Posted: Sat Jun 16, 2012 5:42 am 
Gosei

Liked others: 111
Was liked: 315
In a move that may surprise many, Feng Yun appears to be running for the AGA board. The election page is here http://www.usgo.org/board/elections.html . Normally Feng Yun has tended to control AGA decisions from 'the benches'. It will be interesting to see what effect she can have if she is elected. The Eastern Region has the most candidates - Thomas Hsiang, Gurujeet Khalsa, and Zhiyuan [Edward] Zhang, are all also in the running.

I added in Feng Yun's running statement below, should have added the rest for balance, but was too lazy :)
Quote:
I am an American go professional, trained in China, a former world women’s go champion, and founder of the Feng Yun Go School, who is currently teaching go for a living in America. Go has been my life since I was a little girl, and I know what it takes to be successful.
I decided to run for the AGA Board because as a professional, and as a go teacher with more than hundred students every week, I have firsthand experience of how go is developing in this country. I have spent a lot of time with AGA officials over the past decade, and I can tell you that the AGA is not what it ought to be today. A vision of serving the go community has been supplanted too often by petty concerns about fees and control and perquisites. Available knowledge is ignored. Blunders are covered up. For every step forward, there is a step backward. We deserve better.