It is currently Mon Sep 28, 2020 8:00 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
Offline
 Post subject: Anyone ever used qGo?
Post #1 Posted: Wed May 05, 2010 12:45 am 
Lives in gote
User avatar

Posts: 581
Location: Shanghai, China
Liked others: 96
Was liked: 100
Rank: IGS 2 dan
Has anyone here ever used qGo (from the Ubuntu software repository) to connect to IGS? I have registered an account but can not find out how to save my account login information before connecting to the server. Basically, as soon as I input the information, there is no way to save it, and it erases everytime I try to log in. I end up connecting as a guest every time.

On a related note, does anyone know of a good linux friendly client for connecting to IGS other than qGo?

Top
 Profile  
 
Offline
 Post subject: Re: Anyone ever used qGo?
Post #2 Posted: Wed May 05, 2010 2:17 am 
Dies in gote

Posts: 61
Liked others: 57
Was liked: 19
I'm not sure, but qgo2 is more actively developed, and the client i'm using on linux
to access IGS.
Additionally qgo2 supports connections to Tygem, Oro, etc, which no other linux client
does afaik. Sadly i think the best version is only available from SVN, but probably
worth it.

Top
 Profile  
 
Offline
 Post subject: Re: Anyone ever used qGo?
Post #3 Posted: Wed May 05, 2010 8:38 am 
Oza
User avatar

Posts: 2777
Location: Seattle, WA
Liked others: 251
Was liked: 549
KGS: oren
Tygem: oren740, orenl
IGS: oren
Wbaduk: oren
I used qgo a while ago and don't remember any problems saving the igs login info. Other clients you can use on linux are gGo and glGo. gGo recently had a new beta posted here on the forums you can look up.

The last message I saw about qGo2 was the author giving up because the qt toolkit had some unresolvable issues.

Using Wine and the Panda Egg client does work too.

Top
 Profile  
 
Offline
 Post subject: Re: Anyone ever used qGo?
Post #4 Posted: Sun May 23, 2010 12:09 pm 
Lives with ko
User avatar

Posts: 295
Location: Linz, Austria
Liked others: 21
Was liked: 44
Rank: EGF 4 kyu
GD Posts: 627
go to Connections->Edit Servers
select "-- IGS --" from the list
fill out "Title", "Name" and "Password" <--- this is the important step
click on "Add"

For "Title", you can just use arbitrary text. This will be shown in the drop-down box next to the login button in the toolbar.
If you leave the title black and click add, it will just clear the form without giving you a meaningful error message :roll:


This post by flOvermind was liked by 3 people: apetresc, cdybeijing, Stefany93
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group