It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 10:18 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: 15 kyu game review
Post #1 Posted: Sat Jan 01, 2022 11:42 pm 
Beginner

Liked others: 0
Was liked: 0
OGS: Netnethunter
Hello all. This is my first time posting on this site. I started playing go around 5 months ago and am around 15kyu. I was wondering if you could review this game, with a focus on major errors I made that can be fixed for future games. Please let me know if I uploaded the file incorrectly. Thanks.

Attachment:
40010378-239-Urri108-Netnethunter.sgf [2.4 KiB]
Downloaded 238 times

[admin]
I placed the file inside sgf tags. - JB
[/admin]

Post subject: Re: 15 kyu game review
Post #2 Posted: Sun Jan 02, 2022 8:46 am 
Lives in gote

Liked others: 62
Was liked: 278
KGS: mathmo 4d
IGS: mathmo 4d
Your opening wasn't bad, taking solid enclosures and 2 space extensions. Perhaps you were slightly defensive, responding on the second line when you didn't need to at times, but they weren't too bad.

Here are some of the main mistakes.

:w17: playing on the first line so early is bad as there is very little impact on the rest of the game and S16 is a weakness that can still be exploited. Better at S16 or S15.

:b23: similarly. better at P11
:b27: empty triangle is bad shape. Eyespace is important because B's group is nearly surrounded. S12 is best to so that S11 becomes one eye and S13 is another eye.
:b33: important move since B's corner doesn't have many liberties and corners are important - if they are surrounded they don't have much space to live, but if they get out, they are very alive and hence have maximal influence nearby.
:b53: fancy (unusual)! but the direction is great since there is so much open space here and both players might make a moyo here. K5 is probably more normal or something like N4 if you want to push for efficiency.
:w60: slack, playing in an area already well controlled by W, not close enough to attack B, while B is taking key points all around.