It is currently Thu May 02, 2024 1:19 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: AGA Rules vs. Japanese
Post #1 Posted: Sat Apr 16, 2011 9:49 am 
Lives in sente

Liked others: 183
Was liked: 100
Universal go server handle: hailthorn
Hello, I'm an 11k player on KGS, and I've always played using Japanese scoring. However, today I'm going to be participating in a tournament that uses AGA rules. Is it possible to play the same way with both sets of rules?

I've looked over the rulesets and I can't really see anything drastically different, but I just thought I'd ask so I know ahead of time what I'm getting myself into.

Post subject: Re: AGA Rules vs. Japanese
Post #2 Posted: Sat Apr 16, 2011 10:02 am 
Lives in gote

Liked others: 96
Was liked: 15
KGS: robinz
I'm no expert, but the main difference is going to be due to the fact that AGA rules essentially use area scoring. This means that you need to actually fill in all the dame at the end of the game, or you will lose a point every time you pass and your opponent gets one. (Perhaps you always fill them in anyway, but I've noticed most players on KGS don't, and even I've started to be lazy and not do so.)

Eyes in seki are also counted as points under AGA rules, but not under Japanese ones, but it's rare for this to make any difference (I've certainly never noticed a situation in any of my own games where there would be on).

That's about it as far as I know, but I'm sure the rules experts can point out more :)

Post #3 Posted: Sat Apr 16, 2011 11:24 am 
Oza

Liked others: 304
Was liked: 631
Under AGA rules, if you have the opportunity to start a ko in the endgame, you should do so when you're behind on points; under Japanese rules, you should never do so.