All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: An improvement plan for the London Open
Post #1 Posted: Sat Oct 16, 2021 2:04 pm 
Dies with sente

Liked others: 1
Was liked: 24
DGS: bugcat
Hey lads.

I've just registered for the London Open, which starts on the 28th of December. I'd like to win most of my games, or -- failing that -- at least put up a respectable performance~

The background: I've been playing since the start of 2016, and I've been about 5k since around the start of 2018, probably. I've got about 2,000 19x19 games under my belt, but minimal irl game experience.

I have pretty much no financial budget (£25-50 if I'm lucky). However, I have a very large amount of free time.

My resources:

* A board and stones (slate & shell) ^^

* Several books, including Attack and Defense. I don't have Lessons in the Fundamentals of Go.

* The regular suite of free websites

* various bits and pieces of experience in odd jobs, like Sensei's Library article creation, GoKibitz reviewing, OGS group management etc.

The plan:

1. Tsumego. I've always been a slacker in this department.

My thought is that the main part of this front should be Cho Chikun's Elementary Encyclopedia of Life and Death (see https://senseis.xmp.net/?SpeedrunningChomego). My intention is to try to complete it over the course of a week at most, and if I can finish it in a shorter time then all the better. Having finished it, I'll restart, and so on and so on.

I'll probably also try the Intermediate, and run through the easier sets on TsumegoHero.

2. Games. I don't play every day. I'd like to average at least two games a day, with review. I'm sure I could bring it up to three or even four on some days, but I don't want to drop below a daily game.

3. Less timewasting. Things like Sensei's RandomPage surfing and watching hours of DDK streamers don't help me improve, much as I love them.