It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 9:21 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Greetings everyone, allow me to introduce myself :)
Post #1 Posted: Fri Jan 19, 2018 8:07 am 
Dies in gote

Liked others: 15
Was liked: 8
Universal go server handle: MysteryFTG
Hello,

my name is Tobias, I'm 36 years old and live in Germany. Even though I've known about Go for a long time and started playing about 10 years ago, I'm still a beginner.

Let me tell you a bit about myself and my history with Go.

My first glimpse at Go was about 15 years ago while I was studying at university. A friend of mine was reading the rules about a board game that was supposed to be quite popular in Japan. I was curious, but didn't really pursue it.

5 years later I remembered the game my friend tried to learn during classes. Even though my anime days were long behind me, I discovered "Hikaru no Go". The first few episodes seemed quite ridiculous to me, but little by little, I got hooked and bought a bunch of books and equipment, started doing tsumego and playing online. That was in 2008 and unfortunately it lasted for just about a solid month before I stopped playing again. So I didn't really get anywhere in terms of skill, probably barely above 30k.

Over the next couple of years I never really forgot about Go, but except for re-reading the rules every few years, I didn't do much and I certainly forgot everything I learned. But I always wanted to get back into the game.

For some reason I didn't even notice the AlphaGo craze during 2015&2016. I don't know why, because I studied computer science, I'm interested in Go and programming and the topic is absolutely fascinating.

I went to Japan with a friend in early 2015 and even wanted to visit a Go salon, but never got around to it. I remember trying to get my wife to start playing Go with me around that time, but she wasn't interested at all.